NAPERVILLE, Ill. – Carthage’s Kyle Friberg, along with Illinois Wesleyan’s Eric Dubose and Anthony Sciarini were selected as the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) Football Players of the Week on Monday. Friberg, a junior quarterback from Caledonia, Michigan and East Kentwood High School (Business major), finished 25-of-31 passing for 375 yards, three touchdowns and no interceptions during a 45-27 win over Millikin on Saturday. He established career highs in both passing yards and passing touchdowns and also threw for the eighth-most passing yards in school history (most by a Red Men passer since 2010). Friberg also rushed for 37 yards on five carries against the Big Blue. Dubose, a junior linebacker from Willowbrook, Illinois and Hinsdale South High School (Mathematics & Secondary Education major), recorded a team-high eight tackles (four solo), 4.5 tackles-for-loss and 3.5 sacks during a 47-15 win at Elmhurst on Saturday. His 4.5 tackles-for-loss resulted in 19 yards lost for Elmhurst and his 3.5 sacks resulted in 17 of those lost yards. Dubose also blocked an extra point against the Bluejays. Sciarini, a senior kicker from Frankfort, Illinois and Lincoln-Way East High School (Mathematics major), was 5-of-5 on PATs against Elmhurst on Saturday. He connected on four PATs in the second half including three in the fourth quarter. 2017 CCIW Football Players of the Week Offense Kyle Friberg – Carthage (10/30/17) Austin Breunig – North Central (10/23/17) Curtis McWilliams – Wheaton (10/17/17) Nicco Stepina – Millikin (10/9/17) Broc Rutter – North Central (10/2/17) Jamel Davis – Carthage (9/25/17) Spencer Peterson – Wheaton (9/18/17) Gerald Perry – Millikin (9/11/17) Austin Breunig – North Central (9/5/17) Defense Eric Dubose – Illinois Wesleyan (10/30/17) Trevor Staley – Illinois Wesleyan (10/23/17) Pete Laughlin – Carthage (10/17/17) Jordan Hassan – Illinois Wesleyan (10/9/17) Jordan Hassan – Illinois Wesleyan (10/2/17) Pat Cravens – North Central (9/25/17) Tommy Sora – North Central (9/18/17) Shawntrel Garner – Carthage (9/11/17) Trevor Staley – Illinois Wesleyan (9/5/17) Special Teams Anthony Sciarini – Illinois Wesleyan (10/30/17) Ben Spelman – Millikin (10/23/17) Liam Keffer – Illinois Wesleyan (10/17/17) Matt Sutherland – North Central (10/9/17) Tommy Bazarek – Carthage (10/2/17) Stefan Knoerr – Wheaton (9/25/17) Jacob Stytz – Augustana (9/18/17) Wyatt Fox – Millikin (9/11/17) Stefan Knoerr – Wheaton (9/5/17) Twitter & Instagram: CCIW_Athletics The College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) was founded in 1946 and currently services nine member institutions including Augustana College (Rock Island, IL), Carroll University (Waukesha, WI), Carthage College (Kenosha, WI), Elmhurst College (Elmhurst, IL), Illinois Wesleyan University (Bloomington, IL), Millikin University (Decatur, IL), North Central College (Naperville, IL), North Park University (Chicago, IL) and Wheaton College (Wheaton, IL). During the 2016-17 academic year, the CCIW honored over 1,900 academic all-conference recipients, 10 CoSIDA Academic All-Americans, 33 CoSIDA Academic All-District recipients, one CoSIDA Academic All-American of the Year and over 100 all-Americans.

Featured Posts
Posts are coming soon
Stay tuned...
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags