NAPERVILLE, Ill. – Wheaton’s Curtis McWilliams, Carthage’s Pete Laughlin and Illinois Wesleyan’s Liam Keffer were selected as the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) Football Players of the Week on Tuesday. McWilliams, a senior quarterback from Winter Park, Florida and Orangewood Christian High School (Business/Economics major), was 18-of-29 for 287 yards and had three touchdown passes during a 42-20 win over North Central. The game was suspended due to lightning on Saturday night at the end of the first half with North Central leading 13-7. When the game continued on Monday evening, McWilliams passed for two touchdowns in the third quarter as the Thunder outscored the Cardinals 21-0. He also had an 18-yard touchdown pass and ran for another in the fourth quarter. Laughlin, a senior defensive lineman from Oswego, Illinois and Oswego High School (Criminal Justice major), totaled seven tackles (four solo), 3.5 tackles-for-loss and three sacks during a 31-8 win over Elmhurst on Saturday. His three sacks were the most by a Red Men player this season. Laughlin also blocked an Elmhurst field goal at the end of the first quarter. Keffer, a sophomore wide receiver from Evergreen Park, Illinois and Marist High School (Business Administration/Marketing major), had five punt returns for 75 yards during Illinois Wesleyan’s 30-0 win over Carroll on Saturday. He had a career-long punt return of 24 yards in the fourth quarter and also hauled in a 36-yard touchdown reception in the third quarter. 2017 CCIW Football Players of the Week Offense Curtis McWilliams – Wheaton (10/17/17) Nicco Stepina – Millikin (10/9/17) Broc Rutter – North Central (10/2/17) Jamel Davis – Carthage (9/25/17) Spencer Peterson – Wheaton (9/18/17) Gerald Perry – Millikin (9/11/17) Austin Breunig – North Central (9/5/17) Defense Pete Laughlin – Carthage (10/17/17) Jordan Hassan – Illinois Wesleyan (10/9/17) Jordan Hassan – Illinois Wesleyan (10/2/17) Pat Cravens – North Central (9/25/17) Tommy Sora – North Central (9/18/17) Shawntrel Garner – Carthage (9/11/17) Trevor Staley – Illinois Wesleyan (9/5/17) Special Teams Liam Keffer – Illinois Wesleyan (10/17/17) Matt Sutherland – North Central (10/9/17) Tommy Bazarek – Carthage (10/2/17) Stefan Knoerr – Wheaton (9/25/17) Jacob Stytz – Augustana (9/18/17) Wyatt Fox – Millikin (9/11/17) Stefan Knoerr – Wheaton (9/5/17) Twitter & Instagram: CCIW_Athletics The College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) was founded in 1946 and currently services nine member institutions including Augustana College (Rock Island, IL), Carroll University (Waukesha, WI), Carthage College (Kenosha, WI), Elmhurst College (Elmhurst, IL), Illinois Wesleyan University (Bloomington, IL), Millikin University (Decatur, IL), North Central College (Naperville, IL), North Park University (Chicago, IL) and Wheaton College (Wheaton, IL). During the 2016-17 academic year, the CCIW honored over 1,900 academic all-conference recipients, 10 CoSIDA Academic All-Americans, 33 CoSIDA Academic All-District recipients, one CoSIDA Academic All-American of the Year and over 100 all-Americans.

Featured Posts
Posts are coming soon
Stay tuned...
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags